Maybelline Baby Lips – Cherry Me Review

1Reviewed by Tams

I personally don’t understand how a lip balm could get so much hype, after all it is just a lip balm, there are thousands of those available. However, I decided to give it a go to see if there really was anything special about it.

Unfortunately, I was right, it is just a lip balm. It does smell amazing, actually I want to eat it. This one – Cherry Me – smells like cherry pie, one of my favourite desserts! That alone is a good reason to buy it. I only bought the one as I wasn’t sure they were for me.

They are a little more pigmented than some others but if you’re buying it as an alternative to a lipstick you’d be very disappointed. It is probably ideal for those of us that are less inclined to where bold lipsticks. Put it this way, if I had a daughter who was around 10 this is about the level of makeup I’d let her have.

It does feel really nice on, I just don’t think it needs to be pigmented at all, it’s not enough to wear alone but too much to wear with anything else for me. As for the 8 hour hydration it’s gone within 2. I’m sure it continues to hydrate after that but 8 hours is probably pushing it a bit.

I’d recommend this product for the younger generation but unfortunately it just wasn’t for me. Sorry!

Try it: £2.99 available from Boots and Superdrug

28 thoughts on “Maybelline Baby Lips – Cherry Me Review

  1. I’ve heard good things about the Baby Lips, but I always assumed they were just a tinted lip balm versus a serious lip product. It seems like it would be nice to have for a lazy lip day.

  2. Hey Tams, I nominated your blog from the Liebster Award – you have to answer 11 questions and post them to your blog. They questions are on my page, so check it out xx

  3. I think its a good lip product when you don’t want to much colour, but its everyone’s personal opinion I suppose x

    • Yeah definitely a personal choice. But I don’t think I’ll be getting it again but ill use it as I have it! Perfect for early teens and pre teens too. It’s just not pigmented enough even though its just a lip balm I expected it to be something I could use when I didn’t feel like lipstick but its not a replacement for me. More something I would use in a pj day when I don’t wear any makeup. X

  4. Nice review. Have tried this too, after all the hype, was bound to try. Yes, it does give good tint, sufficient hydration but somehow made my throat sore!! So certainly its not ‘Baby Lips’ to me.

    • I think this one is pretty divided! I’ve seen lots of good reviews too. Guess its down to the person. I have quite pink lips anyway so it’s probably why the tint doesn’t actually make a difference to my lips. It does smell amazing though!

  5. I’m not going to lie I was very disappointed with the Baby Lips too. Firstly, I had to go to 4 different cities to lay my hands on ONE of these little buggers and it wasn’t even the pigmented ones like ‘Cherry Me’ that I got. I got ‘Peach Kiss’ and you’re right, it’s LITERALLY just a lip balm and I don’t know what the fuss is about :/

Leave a Reply

