Salon Hair Chalks Review

2

Hair chalk has been a pretty big trend recently but they’re not the sort of thing I’d use any old-time. Being at a festival this weekend gave me the perfect opportunity to give them a go. I picked these ones up from eBay for around £10. You don’t have to get so many colours but I wasn’t sure which we’d want.

I have to say I love the wide range of colours, every colour I could possible want is right there in that set.

They’re really easy to use, you just wet your hair, chalk it in where you want it, dry it and then seal with hair straighteners. They say it takes 1 to 2 washes to get it out again, I’d argue that it is more 3 to 4. However, I did also make a huge mess trying to do these, think purple and pink EVERYWHERE, my chin, my neck, my leg… you totally have to take a lot of care when using these. They do wash of skin without a problem so it’s not horrific, just do it before you get dressed.

These definitely work best on lighter hair. They looked amazing in my friends hair but took more washes to get out than mine. They’re great for the odd occasion where you want to be a bit more wacky.

While they don’t cause any long-term damage to your hair it is undeniably harder to style the hair that contains the chalk as it dries it out quite a lot. After one wash, I didn’t put it back in for the second day and there was still enough left and my hair was soft and silky again. I’d maybe advise putting too much in then giving it a wash and going with what’s left for the best results.

This is the day we put it in:

1

As you can see it has a much brighter result on the lighter blonde hair than it does on my darker hair. I still liked it though and I definitely could have put more in mine for a more vibrant look.

I’d rate these at around 5/10 because they are a bit of a pain to do and get right, a wash in wash out colour would probably have better results. They also only work really well for light blonde hair, although I’m yet to see how the light colours come on on dark hair, now that’s a thought!

12 thoughts on “Salon Hair Chalks Review

  1. I tried this on one of my friends’ dark black hair last year and it was such a fail because you literally had to scrub the chalk in before they would show up. And it creates a god awful mess as well. To be honest, I think your hair colour is perfect for it really, the chalk colours will look more subtle on your hair.

  2. Pingback: Perfectly Purple | Naked Beauty

Leave a comment